"No Heating or Water being turned on for appraisals or inspections"?

10 Replies

I have been searching around for a couple months in attempt to find my first rental property to buy, and have found a foreclosure that I think has a lot of potential. However, the listing says:

"Water and heating system will not be activated for inspections and appraisals"

I am sure that this question is posted somewhere in the forums, but I was not able to locate it and wanted to see if this was common, and/or if this should be a concern?

My initial thought process is that:

A. I would have to pay to have these turned on myself for inspection/appraisal, or 

B. There is something wrong with one or the other, or both.

Any insight? I am new to investing and this would be a great learning experience to hear some answers. Thanks!

I would like to know too. My guess is that in most cases, especially foreclosures, the utilities have either been disconnected due to non-payments and/or the plumbing / wiring / appliances have been stolen too!  Vacant one day, missing all copper the next...

It's very common although, as a bank, i'd switch them into my name if they were disconnected for non payment in order to ensure the pipes don't freeze and blow a line out.

It might just be me, but I always wonder if there's an underlying reason. I understand them being turned off from the former owner but I would worry about damage from unheated pipes too. I guess your inspector could look at the breaker box & see if the panel is ok for the house. Is there a way to turn the water on at the street just to check it out?

Common with banks.  Either turn on the utilities yourself during inspection period or hire the right inspector with a generator.  Water can be tested using air pressure. 

Not allowing utilities to be turned on is pretty common with bank owned properties. It may or may not indicate a problem.  Problems with the plumbing and electric are also pretty common with bank owned properties ;)