Tracking down the owner of vacant properties

13 Replies

I know it might be obvious, but I didn't see it anywhere around. If you're looking to track down the owner of a vacant property, you can use a skip tracer to track them down for a minimal cost ($15 - $20 bucks or so). I don't have any that I recommend, but maybe people can post who they use?

Another good trick is to send a piece of mail to the vacant house and above the name write "Return Service Requested". The postoffice will then send the mail back to you with the latest forwarding address on it.

It works OK if the owner of record has a forwarding address with the post office. Otherwise, you are back to searching public record, the internet or hiring someone to chase them down.

I am a RE investment instructor in the DFW area and I specialize in locating owners of abandoned houses.

I am hesitant to say too much being new to this site because I am not familiar with all the posting guidelines and/ or differing state laws.

Public data . com is a GREAT website for helping me locate owners but it is limited to certain states for pertinent information. A true skip tracer rarely looks for the person at hand. Rather, they try to locate family members that may be easier to find.

Feel free to email me if I can try to help more.

jim

Jim,

www.publicdata.com looks like it may be a good resource. I could only play with the demo though. Do you know which states it is good for? The demo site lists all states plus DC: