Entering homes before auction - "magic key"

16 Replies

Met a guy at a networking event last night who has supposedly has access and permission to enter foreclosed homes before auction. He said he has a key from all the banks that would let his team enter the homes so investors can walk around and do an inspection before bidding. I was wondering if anyone has heard of this and whether is a legal practice in NJ. 

no such thing

I am not an expert and have only worked with worked with foreclosures a couple times but I find that very hard to believe.   

I assume you mean REO auctions? The “key” the guy is talking about......property preservation co.s who look after homes during/after foreclosure typically use only about a half different lock sets/keys for their properties. This is one of the keys he has, but he definitely doesn’t have the bank’s permission to be cruising around in these empty houses.....not that I haven’t “found a way in” myself, once or twice.

If these are bank owned properties - REOs - he may be referring to listed ones. Some of them never hit the MLS and some do. A couple of banks in my area list them. If they do, any licensed agent can get you in.

If these are mortgage and/or tax deed sales then no way. That would be trespassing for sure.

Great, thanks everyone. He was definitely referring to sheriff auction sales, and not REOs. 

Well, most vacant homes in the foreclosure process have a preservation company maintaining them......same keys.

"Well, most vacant homes in the foreclosure process have a preservation company maintaining them......same keys."

Yup and same permission for investors to enter them :)