Foreclosure Auction questions in San Bernardino County

7 Replies

Hi there! We currently own a STR and have always looked at this one unkept (that's being nice) house on our street thinking it had so much potential. Well now it is up for Auction this July.

I’m totally new to foreclosures and auctions and could be wrong. However I think we could potentially get a killer deal on this house because we are so familiar with the neighborhood but others may not be. Also the house looks like it has somewhat scary owners/tenants that most may not want to deal with. We would plan on an extensive rehab.

Auction details

est resale value - Not Available

est credit bid - Undisclosed

opening bid - $70,000

est debt - $261,676

I think Conservative ARV $275-$300

I have 2 questions...

1. Is there a way to determine what you think the property may end up going for (a ballpark)

2. How difficult is it to get tenants out, assuming the worst. Because I think that may very well happen with this house.

based on what you wrote, it won't go for less than $261,676. If they are the senior lien holder, they will more than likely bid total debt and take it back into REO, rehab it (Maybe), evict tenants, and sell it on the open market by listing it with an agent.

It's a simple unlawful detainer (eviction). Simple in the sense you file a lawsuit and win. Getting them out will also be simple as the sheriff will "assist" them. Not destroying the property before they get kicked out is entirely different.

Thank you for your response Ron.  Wow, I would predict no one in there right mind would pay $261k for this property it is worth $150 MAX in the state it is in.  Hmmm interesting and very unfortunate.

Originally posted by @Danielle Shaw :

Thank you for your response Ron.  Wow, I would predict no one in there right mind would pay $261k for this property it is worth $150 MAX in the state it is in.  Hmmm interesting and very unfortunate.