Newbie looking at first Auction purchase

20 Replies

Hi!

I’m new to real estate investing. I’m looking at a townhome in my area that’s on auction for a starting bid of $37k with estimated resale of around $200k

I would plan on using it as a rental and it could probably rent for about $1000-1100.

Is there anything special I should know about auction purchases? Are there hidden headaches?

This seems like a good opportunity.

Thoughts?! Thank you!

That starting bid is an irrelevant teaser....the undisclosed reserve is Much higher.  If you get the property use do Not use their title co. for the “free” title insurance, it can have all kinds of exceptions, and it’s not free as they add a bunch of junk fees.

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor

Thank for sharing! @Wayne Brooks, thanks for mentioning the need to use your own title company.  I am new to the investing world and have been attending  and bidding on auctions this past month.  I am working on investigating non-title related issues like code violations, but not sure where to start.  Thanks again @Ali

@Ali Parnell

Hi Ali,

An undisclosed Reserve means the seller has set a minimum amount below which they will not sell the house. So if you were to win the house for 34k, this does not meet the reserve and they would not sell you the house.