Court Order Vacating Sheriff Sale

19 Replies

I am really upset. I bought a property from sherif sale. I was going to make a hefty profit from this sale. Today I received a notice from sheriffs office advising that “enclosed please find a courtesy copy of “plaintiffs motion to vacate sheriffs sale”. One of the chapters read as follows “prior to the sheriffs sale and without providing notice to plaintiff, the borrower filed a petition for reorganization under chapter 13 of the U.S. bankruptcy code. The sherif sale was conducted in violation of Automatic stay and is therefore void. So basically, it seems like the borrower filed bankruptcy after I won the bid at the auction. Sheriffs office said they will refund my down payment which is a relief but I’m wondering if I should fight this? I’ve never done this before and not sure how to go about disputing this?

You are "really  upset" because the plantif is trying to save his house??? What's wrong with you people? Find another opportunity and be happy the previous owner is trying to salvage the property.

This happens every day. But I’m guessing they filed BK before the auction, but the court wasn’t notified. There is nothing to fight, it is what it is. 

Originally posted by @Ricky Si :