Seller behind on payments

5 Replies

A seller told me he hasnt paid for 9 months.

His payments are 850. That would be 7,650, But what about penalties, taxes, attorneys, etc etc. How can I know exactly how much I’d have to pay in order to get the seller out of foreclosure?

@Fili Aguirre you don't need to get them out of foreclosure. Write a contract, take to title company and have their attorney call and tell mortgage company you have a contract and get to hold foreclosure so you can close.

"I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice." Just what I would do.

@Fili Aguirre you could also have the seller request, or give you written authorization to request, a mortgage pay-off statement from his lender.  That should tell you the principal, interest and penalties due as of a certain date.  While that is in the works do some research at the Registrar of Deeds to find unpaid property taxes.  While you are at it check for any mechanic's liens or unpaid utility bills that could travel with the property.

Assuming you are trying to purchase it, If you get them under contract to sell, the agent can try to appeal to the foreclosure department to put the foreclosure on hold in order to close the deal. Give them something substantive like a fully executed purchase agreement and proof of funds to close. You would only need to make that request if you are within a short sale period. If you are financing the transaction, you are going to need time. If you are paying cash, you don't need to do anything to close it except, get it closed, quickly.