REI In the oven... Ready to start!

5 Replies

Hi and Good morning!

Straight to the point!. I am a New Real Estate Agent who fell in love with the RE investment world, so I’m looking to buy our (husband and I) first investment property, in the area I want to is so expensive right now, so we decide to look in another market that is 30 minutes commute from this location and we are looking to do house hack in this property.

I'm looking to buy a foreclosure property that needs major works, I know I can apply to a FHA 203 K Loan, but I want to know the pros and cons from this loan. I have the money for the down payment and the rehab, but they will not lend me just a FHA if the house is not habitable.

What are the advice from you, what should I do?

The 203k loan sounds good for what you're doing there. It requires extra paperwork and you won't be able to do the work yourself, because that loan requires you to work with a contractor who is qualified to work with the 203k program. These are the main downsides of that loan.

If you can find a way to BRRRR the property, then you could do work yourself (if you want to do that to help save money) or at least you can work with any contractor you want.

It might be easiest to find a property that needs work, but is inhabitable. This is what I did on a house hack that I did, where I did most of the rehab myself. It needed quite a lot, but when my wife and I bought it, it still qualified for conventional financing. This makes things much easier, and if it's your first project, you might not want to take on something that needs a ton of work.

@Clark Kirkpatrick that was exactly I told my husband, this will be our first project so I want to get involve with the process and save money with the contractor or handyman (if I need one). I want to know how it feels and learn from the experience.

I hope I can find a good deal to do the BRRRR strategy because the market I'm thinking is in NJ and is still a little bit expensive.