Multifamily Househack in Las Vegas

7 Replies

Hello Everyone, I am moving to Las Vegas, NV from CA in early 2022. My goal is to purchase and househack a multifamily property valued at ~$400,000 by 2024. I am looking to generate atleast $200 of positive cash flow per month from the househack. I am new to Las Vegas, so please feel free to share any general advice. I would greatly appreciate it!

Here are some questions that I have in mind rn:

1. Are multifamily properties a great investment to househack in Las Vegas?

2. What are some recommended locations that I should consider to buy a rental property?

3. I am aware that there are alot of houses being built in LV. What are some developing locations that show great rental potential?

As mentioned. You will have to be young/adventurous to house hack a SMF in Vegas. I’d suggest you reach out to @Terry Lao I consider him an expert on the subject. You’ll find 80% are “inner core” and about 10% to the west and 10% up north. (Many of which will be nicer and newer but more expensive.)

Unfortunately we don't have "Midwest 4 plexes". (Brick fourplexes that we 50 years old but look like they were built yesterday mixed in among the SFR.)

@Bill Brandt

Always nice to hear from you. 

Here's some facts about 4plexs, and your observations with you plan.

Facts.

1. I just did a search of true 4plexs (2bed/1-2 bed x 4) on Redfin, there are currently about 28 available listings on MLS. SFR about 3073. Condo/townhome about 924. Low inventory across all of Las Vegas, but extreme low for 4plexs. What does econ 101 tell you?

2. Most 4plexs are older and in bad areas (east and north). In my opinion, the best area is near strip, which is also near UNLV.

3. Rents going up with inflation, even 2bed/2bath getting $900 per month, on east side.

4. For $400k, it is the lower end of 4plexs, and on the east and north Las Vegas. Are you willing to live in a bad part of Las Vegas?