Is this a good deal?

6 Replies

I wanted to see if anyone can help me. I am new to real estate investing. I have signed up to join a cohort through a program in my town, because I didn't know anything about real estate, but that doesn't start until February. However, I have been watching a lot of Bigger Pockets and have been reading a ton. I found a property (triplex, but set up like a rooming housing with 4x4 on the bottom floor, 3x3 middle, and 3x2 on top) in Atlanta for $650,000 but it needs renovations. They are willing to do seller financing and cover 100% of the renovations and the estimated ARV is $750,000. But I need to bring about $130,000-150,000 for a down payment. The plan is that is the skin I put in the game and then they will pay for the renovations and then I can either sell it and make a profit or keep it and do short or long term renting. I plan to keep it since I estimate, that with renting it per room, I can bring in at least $10,000 or make it an AirBnB property since it's in the west end of Atlanta. Does this sound like a good deal? I am planning to go to a hard money lender to get the down payment, then have it appraised and have a contractor look at it to make sure their renovation numbers are correct. My offer has been accepted, but I just want some more assurance that I am going in the right direction or is this a bad deal.

It doesn't sound ok.  I'm very familiar with the West End.  Good price largely depends upon the rents.  

What do you estimate the rent/unit to be when you've renovated?  $1200?  Also, how many square feet is the building?  It sounds big.  You can't easily get financing for a rooming house, so rents will drop a lot from rooming house to triplex.  

Be sure to get an appraisal early.  I wouldn't do this deal.  It's way too risky with your being new, then violating zoning (rooming house or short term rental) to make it work.

Hey @Charlene Byssainthe, welcome to the BP community!