Skip to content
Multi-Family and Apartment Investing

User Stats

Votes
Dan Bowe
Votes |
Signing a non exclusive representation agreement with a broker?

Dan Bowe
Posted Mar 11 2024, 01:27

I'm fairly new to RE investing. I've started looking around and talked to a few brokers about deals I found online. One of the brokers said he could send me dealflow but required that I sign a non exclusive representation agreement. Is this common?

Also, the agreement specifies that if I buy a property through his service I'll be paying 3% commission in case the sellers broker doesn't split fees. Is that also normal? 

User Stats

Votes
Melanie P.
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied Mar 11 2024, 01:37

If you're not comfortable with his terms you're under no obligation to use him. 

User Stats

Votes
Dan Bowe
Votes |
Replied Mar 11 2024, 01:39
Quote from @Melanie P.:

Thanks, really wanted to understand what's the norm these days.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Melanie P.
Pro Member
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied Mar 11 2024, 02:15
Quote from @Dan Bowe:
Quote from @Melanie P.:

Thanks, really wanted to understand what's the norm these days.

There is no "norm." If he is sending off-market deals it makes sense. He should not be due a commission for pointing out a property to you which is on the MLS.

User Stats

Votes
Andrew Freed
  • Investor
  • Worcester, MA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Worcester, MA
Replied Mar 11 2024, 03:35