Going out to see a 4plex

13 Replies

hello BP in about two hours I'm going meet an agent to look at a 4plex right around the corner from where I live. I'm nervous and excited at the same time. The plex is listed for 200,000$ With three rented out for 1050 a month.. I haven't done the numbers yet because I'm not to familiar with it (newbie here). It did say it has a 21%. Cap rate. I am hoping I can get a fha loan to get the plex. My question to you all what are some good questions to ask the agent? I am in the New Orleans east area by the way :).

@Alesha Rayford  

- Don't take anyone's word for anything.  Ask the agent for documentation to prove that 21% cap rate.  My first multi-family purchase has been a disaster, and I probably wouldn't have bought it at all had I verified everything that everyone was telling me.

thanx I will definitely ask her about that. How do I post the link of the plex on here? 

@Bryan L.  

@Alesha Rayford   Above the reply box, theres a symbol that looks like a link on the top right side. Click on it and it will open a box to paste the link into.

@alesha rayford. Good morning. Good luck on the meet in A few minutes, but may I ask what neighborhood is the 4-plex in new orleans east? And yes you can purchase this property with a fha loan. Duplexes,triplexes all fall under the same guidelines as a single family home.

Usually with the cap rates that agents list, it has ludicrously low expenses. As Bryan said, don't take anyone's word for it, look at the operating statement if they have one and use conservative numbers to do your analysis. Generally speaking, listed properties never have a cap rate of 21% (nor does much else). Good luck!

@Alesha Rayford  

Are the 3 apartments rented for $1050 each, or total?  If it is total, I wouldn't even go look.