What to do with a movitaved Motel Seller

1 Reply

I recently called on a property owner  that evicted a tenant.  I found out he owned a 10 unit motel and 3 single family homes that he rents by the room.  He wants to sell them all as a package deal.  I am fairly new in investing and not sure  how to price the motel. I have a partner that took a buyer to the property that may be interested.  My thoughts are to get it under contract and to shop it and assign the contract.   Suggestions.....

@Linda Willis

I have no real knowledge of hotel/motel but am looking at a similar deal and thinking through numbers / options (I came across your post searching for info on motel investing) since no one responded, I'll give my two-cents.  I think you price motel as a business, or at least commercial real estate.  Meaning that you figure out the net profit and calculate cost based on local cap rate.