Want to buy a 4plex.. need advice

8 Replies

Hey guys and gals I have run into a decent multi family opportunity... to make a long story short, they are building new four plexes (its actually 4 townhomes with one tax id#) And i have the opportunity to purchase one($585,000) (146,250/door).

Rents will be $1250/unit $5K/mo. I will owner occupy one unit for a year or so.. i could get enough for 10% down. I only have one year tax returns being self employed... Anyone have any ideas ? I hate to pass this good of an opportunity by because most multi's in my area are from at least 1950 and most are pretty run down. This has a good return, i just have to figure out the financing

Are you unable to get traditional financing?

I have great credit 760+, the problem is that i only have one year tax return as a realtor. I was a loan officer the year before that, and most jumbo loans require two years self employed history... so i have to get creative...

Would the lack of income history preclude you from getting a 203k loan? What kind of financing were you looking at @ 10%?

How do you calculate this a good return? Is there some great potential for appreciation? There's not much income there after property taxes and expenses.

@Jordy Clark ; I'm with David. Without very favorable loan terms, your cashflow is probably negative. Not sure this is a good deal.

@Jordy Clark I am also in agreement ... that's pretty expensive per door for me too, especially at $1250 monthly rent. I would be looking for a higher ROI. If your concern is not being able to have the cash up front, or the financing in place, it would be a pass for me. Just too much money invested, too little equity, and not assuming any appreciation (which I find is more dangerous to do than anything) ... sounds like it might be a pass.

Good luck!

Originally posted by @Jordy Clark: