What are the pros and cons regarding high cap rates?

75 Replies

I have recently read a post that mentioned high cap rates can be risky?

I am new to investing and up until the other day, I believed that the higher the cap, the better the income. What are the pros and cons of this? I am leaning towards obtaining some MFRs and I want to be sure Im doing my research right.

Hi George -- good question.  I've been asking myself the same question recently. 

I think the tradeoff is that, in low-cap areas, there tends to be higher increases in rent rates, whereas high-cap areas do not have much natural rent rate increase opportunities. 

The "the wind is at your back" when buying low cap areas because the market forces tend to allow for increased NOI through rent increases (with expenses being the same). The downside, though, is that your initial cashflow when buying the low-cap areas is minimal, and sometimes even negative!

Thus, it depends on whether you're hungry for CF immediately, or whether you don't need the cash now, but want long-term value creation in the asset through NOI increases ("forced appreciation").

Interested to hear what others have to say...

@Andrew Kniffen. Thanks for the reply,  yeah it threw me off and made me think twice about my search. I know that most low end areas have high cap rates, but another question I have is does this mean that rent control will be enforced also?

Rent control is a local issue, county-by-county.  You would have to find other investors in your area to get input on that.  

Whenever you see a high CAP you must ask yourself - why? There's always a reason, and most of the time it's not good :)

When you read Pro Forma, which presents you with a chain of logical information resulting in a CAP rate, it's important to remember that the rate is only as good as the information, and the information is nothing more than someone's spin...