Historical Mixed Use

17 Replies

I am interested in using a FHA 203K loan to renovate a Mixed-Use building. I am looking to have four residential units and two commercial units. Does anyone have experience with historical renovations? How does the process usually work?

@Devonte Dinkins  hey you've got a fun project on your hands but it will likely be very expensive. I helped revitalize a historical theater and managed several renovated historical building. You will run into surprises.  Budget accordingly. Enjoy the journey.

@Al Williamson  thank you for the reply. I am looking to take advantage of some grants to complete the project as well.  What should my first step be, should I have a developer go out with me to the property I'm interested in? By the way I am a young property manager, and I love your Leading Landlord blog site, it's very informative and has really helped me out.   

@Devonte Dinkins  glad you're enjoying the blog. Hope it leads to a big payday for you.

Bringing a developer along can't hurt. You're going to need estimates of what the work will cost. But my biggest tip for you is to be resourceful. If you're going to tackle a historical project then you're going to need a BIG compelling story to get others to help you.

Even with grants, you need to demonstrate resourcefulness to complete the project - otherwise the nickel and dimes will run out as soon as the 50th surprise catches you off guard. Recruit others to help you  - historical projects need a big group of cheerleaders to help out.