Thoughts on this 16 unit apt in Mississippi

7 Replies

$550/mo

6-12 mo leases.  avg. 1 turnover a month (averaging over past 24 months).

$91K gross (~90% occupancy)

$22k expenses (taxes, insurance, water, sewer, trash, electric)

$5k in repairs (~5% of gross)

$9k mgmt expenses (10%)

$54k net before note

($95k down) 380k loan @ 4.75 for 20yr is 29k/yr.

$25k noi ? 

i have talked them down to $475k. i am hopeful to try and end up at $460k.

new roof last year. option to buy 2 acres adjoining for possible additional building ($50k) - thoughts on that? zoning is lax in this county - i'm sure they would approve another 16 unit.

any insight would be great.  this is my FIRST attempt to go all the way down the number path before I pull the trigger on my first rental property.  

At first glance, I would say your repairs & maintenance figure is on the low side. At $5K for the whole building, you are only talking around $300/door. Maybe on a very good year you'd be that low, but given that this building seems to turnover quite frequently, I'd say you're probably looking at least double that rate. Maybe when you interview a few local property managers, see how much they would budget for repairs & maintenance.

I'd wait on buying land to develop multifamily property until you have a decent number of deals under your belt, unless you came into RE investing by way of working for a developer previously.

@Kyle D.    depending on where it is.. familiarize your self with   " Yazoo Clay"

Another thing missing is reserves. 

@Kyle D.  I would also say that the repair costs are low given that there is one turnover a month. I would suggest looking at the cost of a typical make ready and budget that in. I don't believe that $300 is adequate for a make ready even if you are super cheap. If you have to replace the flooring then that would easily go over the $300 allotment. I would really look at the cost of the make ready if there is that much turnover.