10 Unit Apartment - Estimate numbers prior to offer or get full financials?

6 Replies

Hi everyone,

I am new to multis that are over 4 units, and it's been quite a lot to learn. I know that I need to get financials as the value is based on NOI, but when do I get the exact financials-during due diligence, or before making an offer? I can estimate a lot of the expenses, and I know what the seller is stating for current rents. Do I verify all of that prior to the offer, or do I make an offer based on the estimate and adjust after during due diligence?

I feel like I've read both ways.  I just want to make sure that I'm not frustrating the agents involved, but I want to make sure that I've done everything properly from my end to evaluate the deal.

Thanks in advance!

Greg

Don't worry about bothering the real estate agents, that's their job. Any realtor should be gathering up this information up for you before you make an offer. Request copies of all leases to verify rental rates. You can contact the utility department's to get the actual cost of water, electric etc.

You should be able to ask for financials before you make an offer. If the seller does not want to do that, it is a red flag. Of course, the financials provided before contract are those you need to analyze the deal, which need to be verified in detail after you have a contract. Since it is understandable the sellers wont provide bank account, tax return, leases, before you have a contract. 

You should not be able to get a copy of the leases prior to an accepted offer.  That is confidential information that should not just be passed out. 

All of the information should be given to you by the agent.  They should be able to pass along the income and expenses.  Ask for the actuals.  They will probably give you a proforma which is just a view of income and expenses through rose colored glasses.  They should be able to provide you with a current rent roll.