The Term "Off-Market"

14 Replies

I here people always saying you should look for "Off Market" deals for better pricing on properties. I'm I missing something. I run into FSBO's all the time and doesn't mean the owner is not wanting the same offers as the properties that are on the MLS. They just don't want to deal with paying an aget commission. To them that more profit...not more money to give away by selling cheaper.

Off market properties just means properties that aren't currently listed. So a FSBO is technically on the market even though it's not on the MLS. Off market would be like mailing to a foreclosure or out-of-state owner who hasn't listed their house or perhaps a "pocket listing" that a real estate agent is bringing to good buyers before listing. This means you have less competition. Regarding most FSBO's, they're usually over-priced.

Hi there! Josh here from Atlanta, I am by no means an expert, but in my limited experience, here is what I have learned:

Hopeful FSBO sellers are the same as 'off-market' properties. There are many owners out there who would like to sell their properties, but they feel they can not for any number of reasons. Perhaps the properties are vacant, distressed, owned by family members of the deceased, or any manner of other situations. Through active marketing (door-knocking, advertising, yellow letter campaigns, etc.), reaching out to these owners can yield leads that in turn can lead to property purchases as a significant discount from market value.

The process of finding discounted properties, especially for the newer investor (like me) can be daunting. That said, with a concerted effort, you will be able to locate some great deals with solid numbers.

Wishing you all the best on your real estate ventures. Cheers!