Amazing opportunity or just a silly deal?

24 Replies

Hi guys,

I'm new to RE investing and would like to get some advice on the following property in Ontario, Canada. I've been reading up on RE investing the past year and have been browsing MLS for roughly the same amount of time. Recently I found a property that meet the spec and want to know if I am no the right track.

This 6plex is in a not so great neighbourhood but 1 km away from a University

Asking Price: $180k (Want to put in offer at $165k)

Gross Annual Income: $40,980 (Adjusted to $37,140 due to inflated rent in 2 of the units and the tenants will be moving out soon).

Vacancy Rate: 4%

Cap Rate: Close to 11%

Debt Coverage Ratio: 2.18

Expenses: Around $18,220

NOI: $17,435

Cash Flow Before Tax: $9,448.89

Case Flow Before Tax Per month: $787.41

This property also very deep at 200' and has a garage in the back with a parking area that can be access through the back alley.  I might be able to increase income by renting the spots out to University students and renting out the garage.  

2 out of the 6 units will be leaving the property in coming months.  3 out of the 6 units are rented by Chinese students with 1 year lease ended and currently on month-to-month basis. 1 Unit is rented to an elderly woman on 1 year lease and according to her neighbour, she has some mental disabilities (not sure if that's relevant).  

This property is in a decent size city with 250k population and current vacancy rate is 5.8%.  Also, the unemployment rate is 10% which is quite high. I've also got more crime stats from the Police within the block of the property. 

Here are the stats in the past 10 years:

Theft from motor vehicle: 20 incidents

Domestic Complaints: 18

Mischief: 11

Lost and found: 10

Break and Enter Dwelling: 10

Breach/Bail Conditions: 8

Theft other: 7

Assault: 5

And a bunch of other 1s and 2s of theft, Threads, MHA, Landlord issues, etc.