If you had 900k in capital, what would you do?

8 Replies

I want to jump into mid-sized apartment complex investing. What can I do to set myself up for success? I have been studying RE for the past 2 years and I want to buy and hold commercial real estate in Texas. Should I start an LLC and buy properties with that or what? Thanks for your time and hope to hear back from you!

@Joshua Sayre , I am a big fan of the TX market and own a 200+ unit in Dallas and making a run at a 300+ unit deal to buy in the next 90 days.

If you are just starting out I would strongly suggest you get very clear on what your investment strategy will be in buying properties in Texas. Are you looking for Class A deals, value add deals, repositioning opportunities?

Also what type of cash flow are you looking to generate from your deals? Cash flow from a momentum play deal is different from a value play or repositioning deal. 

So by understanding how much cash flow you need will determine the types of deals you target to purchase.

As a CPA I always suggest forming and buying property in an LLC as it gives you flexibility from a tax perspective and also has legal protection. When I put these large deals I form single purpose LLC's - the SPE holds title to the asset and my investors get their ownership in the deal by purchasing units of the LLC. Usually we form a couple LLC's, but don't want to confuse you right now.

My point though of sharing is you don't need to setup all of these LLC's right away as there is a cost to do so. If you are in the process of just starting your business you could form an LLC as your holding company where you will make offers, do marketing, allow investors to learn more about your company. In your LOI and PSA simply include language you will assign the contract to your SPE before closing.

Good luck!!

@Brian Adams

Thanks Brian and great reply!