SF Bay Area MultiPlex

8 Replies

Hello Every one,

I am new to this forum and would like some advice on how to calculate the if the sale price of the multi unit is worth the money. Recently I found a good 11 unit building with significant rent increase potential. The seller is selling it for $3.5mm. My question is how do I evaluate if this sale price is the right? 

Thanks

Welcome to BP. I am also a newbie into MF arena.

You need to provide a lot more information.

What is the NOI? (rent - expenses ) ignoring mortgage costs.

expenses captured are accurate?

taxes are adjusted to new buyer and not prop13 rates for 20+y ownership.

suggested rents are competitive with rents in the market ?

what is the cap rate for equivalent MF ? price = NOI/cap

what is the potential to improve rents? at what cost of rehab or other?

rent control?

You have to take proforma data from agent and adjust it to your expenses and rents to see if it makes sense for you.

hope this helps.

@Rita Roy Welcome to BP. 

Is this going to be your first property?  

What are current rents?

You mention an upside in rent but how much % are you talking about. Did you do the research on the current rents yourself or going by Pro forma?

Are you going to self manage or hire property management?

Make sure you account for vacancies.

Are there any major capex items like roof/windows that need to fixed? Make sure you get estimates on these and expect overages. We own a 4 pelx and we expected around 80K for fixing issues we found that what needed to be done but now as we are doing the work we realized we underestimated this by 50K. 

@Abhay K. is right about property tax and finding out if there is rent control. 

BP has a rental Property calculator under the Analyze tab. You can use it run your numbers. Just make sure you use real numbers not Proforma given by seller.

@Rita Roy