Peter Harris Multifamily Apartments

11 Replies

I'm at North Seattle Community College all day for a Peter Harris, Commercial Property Advisors, boot camp.  

I have been a student of Dave LIndahl (best $1,000 I ever spent) and was at REAPS listening to Anthony Chara (good multifamily guy) on Thursday.  On my commute yesterday I listened to a You Tube video by Mr. Harris; later that day I told my wife listen to this guy I really like his strategy and approach.  

Last night I get an email that Mr. Harris is here in Seattle.  Call it destiny, I'm not sure but I am here.

So what did you think of the seminar?

It was great.  He focused on wholesaling apartments.  Exactly what I am interested in doing. 

I'm going to do my good act for the day with this post:

Firstly, you should know that I am familiar with the instructor and have heard is pitch and ideas. Let me save you time, money and energy by saying that the vast majority of what he preaches cannot be done in Seattle or anywhere in King County for that matter.

For starters, the instructor is totally unfamiliar with the going capitalization rates of King County. In his example at the presentation I attended, he was throwing around capitalization rates north of 7%. It will be extremely rare in Seattle to find an apartment building producing more than 5%. And if it does produce more than 5% you have to do some serious homework to make sure someone is not lying to you, because they most likely are. 

As well, his marketing strategy is nothing short of obvious, mundane and completely ordinary. He sends letters to people who own apartments but live out of state. That's his big secret... And he gets his lists from Listsource, which is a total sham only newbies use. Someone with an inside track on wholesaling apartment buildings would be well above and beyond these basic and obvious marketing tactics.