Good markets for multi-units

20 Replies

Hi Everyone! 

I'm researching where would be a good market for investing in a mid level ($1M to 1.5M) multi unit for the best return rates and stability. Ideally somewhere near Detroit, Los Angeles, or Charlotte NC, but I'm open to all suggestions and why.  LA is ridiculous right now and I'm 1031-ing money from an LA based property for this purchase. I've heard the "research triangle in NC is a good area?

We're also open to MHP's in this price range too, but from what I know loans are harder to get. We'll have approx $300K for a down.

There are some areas of Hartford that are pretty good investments. You have to be careful where, but there's a good tenant market in the right areas where you can see good cap rates in the west and south end.

Hi @Drew Cobb ,

The toughest part about the LA market is getting in.  Once you're in, the low cap rates work in your favor.......I'd be reluctant to leave!  I'm a property manager and agent specializing in small/medium apartments North Los Angeles.....happy to connect with you over coffee if you like. 

-Ethan

Originally posted by @Ethan Vegas :

Hi @Drew Cobb ,

The toughest part about the LA market is getting in.  Once you're in, the low cap rates work in your favor.......I'd be reluctant to leave!  I'm a property manager and agent specializing in small/medium apartments North Los Angeles.....happy to connect with you over coffee if you like. 

-Ethan

Plus you're kissing your Prop 13 tax base away!  In some cases you'll need $10,000+ in profit each year out of state just to make up for that loss!

Those are 3 drastically different markets. Out of curiosity what criteria puts Los Angeles, Detroit and Charlotte on the same list?