good areas for du/triplex in LOs Angeles?

9 Replies

Hi,

I'm brand new to the BP and still very new in learning the ropes. I'm interested in house hacking and rehab a duplex or triplex, but the Los Angeles area can be really expensive. I want something in a decent area, so I'm trying to stay away from area such as Compton or parts of South LA that are really cheap, but generally unpleasant areas to live, since I'll be living there as well.

For those who are more experienced in this and with the Southern Cali area, can you steer me in any relatively reasonably priced areas with potential gain for a first time investor?

Also, should this be done as personal purchase or only under a business entity such as an LLC? If the latter, how difficult is lending in this scenario?

I'm not completely clueless, but I need a lot of advice. The more I research I do, the more this all seems quite overwhelming! All advice and help is sincerely greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!!!!

@Elice Hennessee House hacking is a great way to get started here in LA. It really depends on your budget and where you want to live. There are some options in Inglewood, Hawthorne, Carson, long beach areas. You are not going to get great returns here, but you do get great rent growth and a possibility of appreciation.

Welcome @Elice Hennessee . I'd check out the areas @Eric Dowling recommended. 

If you're house hacking a duplex or triplex it's most likely a personal purchase. An LLC is going to have a hard time getting a loan on anything under 4 units.

More than 4 units is a commercial property which requires a commercial loan. Those are easier for LLC's to acquire but it's a different ball game.

Promotion
Speed To Lead
Buy hot seller leads w/o subscription
Buy daily seller leads that are actually ready to sell
Finally there's a place where you can buy leads that asked for urgent help selling their house