Looking for Advice on Purchasing Two-Unit

5 Replies

I am new to the world of real estate purchasing and investing and am looking for advice on purchasing a bank-owned property. It is a two-unit apartment house listed at $79,900 and the bank is offering to finance the property as well as $30,000 in repair money. The repair money is accurate in what it needs to fix up to be rentable. The structure is very solid with updated wiring, windows, and water heaters. It will need a new heat system and roof which is included in the repair money. I am wondering how to figure out a good purchase price so it will be profitable to rent or sell. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

@Cameron DePaola any REI deal you purchase should past the 1% rule smell test. If you purchase for 80K and have to dumpt 30K into the property then the property should rent for a minimum of $1,100 per month. Based on other rentals in the area can you get $1,100 per month? I'd start there. Also you need to find the ARV for the property based on comps. You always want to buy at as deep a discount as possible. Hope this helps. Good luck man!

@Cameron DePaola

The first place to start is Craigslist. Search for other rentals that are comparable in that area. That should give you a good idea of how much rent you can get.

Then just work out the expenses. Taxes should be public record (search you county assessor's site). Call an insurance guy and get a quote for insurance of a rental property. The loan payment should be pretty easy to figure out (run the purchase price through an amortization calculator). Then you will have PITI (payment, interest, taxes, insurance) add in 10% of rents for maintenance etc. and you have your expenses.

Subtract your expenses from your total rent and you have your cashflow.

If your happy with the amount of monthly cashflow, then you have a viable prospect.