Investing outside of your area?

14 Replies

What have been your experiences investing in multifamily in markets other than where you live?  I am a newbie so I don't know if this is too ambitious for a first investment.  But I would be relying on a property manager either way, since I have a full time job.

Are there any specific things I should be aware of if I were to take this path?

You have to be careful in the general market you choose and also research the specific sub-market within that market. You'll have to build a strong team that will allow you to own remote. And generally don't try to buy too small or too harsh a demographic as both will make it harder to remotely manage.

Truly think about your risk tolerance level and personality.  Do you trust people and have you formulated a method that works for you on how to build trust?  How much time are you willing to dedicate?  Do you have a detailed business plan?  Do you have contingency plans in case the investment isn't working to right the ship or exit?

To support Michael Le's comment, building a strong TEAM is important.

Real Estate agent, Lawyer, Mortgage Broker, Property Mgmt Company, CPA, etc.

@Michael Dang

Thank you so much for the post.

Is there a place or good source to leaen about out of state and what people I need on the team? Is there a general trust building procedure or source that aids in showing me what I should look for?