• Michigan City, IN
Votes |
Contractor Specializing in Apartment Renovations

Joel Florek
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Michigan City, IN
Posted Oct 11 2017, 05:50

Hello BP multi family members,

I am exploring the idea of of a new contracting business focused on the multi family market and want to gauge interest from the people like myself who own multi family property. I have been a contractor working with house flippers and home renovations but am needing to change directions since my last major job has completed. Please comment and provide ideas as I think this could solve a lot of issues for apartment owners. Scale and commitment from owners is key for this model to work. 

The idea is pretty simple, build a contracting business that specializes in turning apartment units and performing small capital improvement projects. Prices would be fixed for various activities and would be available on a sort of "menu." You would have one contractor to go to for all your renovation needs and you would eliminate the hassle of surprise labor charges, delays because your preferred vendor is building a house and has you at the bottom of their priorities, and eliminate the process of getting quotes for work to be completed. 

An idea of how this work would be an owner/manager could go online to order new flooring, painting, a window replaced, new toilet, or a light fixture exchange. They would indicate the desired range of dates for the work to be completed and provide the unit number and building for work to be completed along with an estimate for the floor square footage for the proposed work area(how most of the work is calculated off the "menu." You would even select the paint color, type of flooring, and other material from our list of standard options.