What are your buying parameters for buying a multifamily property

13 Replies

I am currently trying to identify what my ideal parameters are for identifying/buying multifamily properties. Since I am brand new to this side of real estate I was hoping that some of the vets out there might share with me your ideal parameters or checklist that you use before deciding to make an offer? 

For example:

1) Class type- B/C class

2) ideal property size- 16 or more doors

3) Vacancy rate- nothing below x%

4) Absorption rate- 

5) Cap rate / coc return- 

etc..

I realize that everybody will likely have different goals for investing and will be in different markets so this will drastically change certain answers to the above but if you could also share your actual numbers alongside the checklist this will be very helpful to me. 

Any information or feedback is much appreciated!

70-150 units B/C properties in DFW and surrounding areas. 

Target ROI for investors is 100%+ over 5 years (10%+ cashflow & 50%+ capital gains) assuming stable economic vacancy of 10%-12% with 3% rent inflation and 7.5-8% exit cap rate.

@Nick B. thanks for being more specific. This is the type of answer I was aiming for.

@Brian Garrett thanks for the reply. Ultimately I am trying to gather data on approaches, methods and/or hone in on any patterns. Regardless of the different answers/approaches, I am trying to get insight into what the more seasoned multifamily investors are using for their checklist to identify their ideal property. Even if the specific parameters are different than mine based on goals, resources etc... it is interesting to see what specific things people consider to be an important identifier on their checklist.