• Wholesaler
  • Columbus, OH
Votes |
BRRR Cash Out $250k Case Study

Lonnie Freeman
  • Wholesaler
  • Columbus, OH
Posted Dec 13 2017, 08:04

I am closing on the re-finance on a multifamily in Ohio where we will cash out $250k and I wanted to share my case study with others so they can learn from our mistakes and successes. First, here are the quick numbers:

20 units - all 2 bedroom, 1.5 bath town house style units.

Purchased for $368k

Renovations: $175k

All in for $555k

New Appraisal: $1.1M 

Bank willing to loan 75% LTV = $825,000

Cash out on refi: $270k

So here's my case study: I have plenty of experience with single family/residential properties and creative deal structures but this was my very first commercial deal I'v purchased. I found the property through cold calling (my partner is a MF broker and has access to certain tools so could get the guys phone number when data basing). The seller happen to be in foreclosure and his property was distressed, 50% occupied, rents were way too low, and the property needed a lot of work done to it. He owed around $263k to the bank, but hadn't been paying the mortgage for a long time, so it was actually set to go to sheriff sale when we talked to him (we ended up closing 1 week prior to the sheriff sale). We ended up buying this property for $368k but bought the property subject to the existing mortgage. We brought about $105k cash to closing which went in the sellers pocket, and we kept the $263k mortgage in place and started making the mortgage payments. We raised an additional $150k from private lenders for the construction improvements.