Commercial Loan for a 5-unit building in NJ

11 Replies

Hi there, I currently own two single family rental properties and was recently approached about purchasing a 5-unit building in the same town.  The listing notes state that only commercial loans can be used.  I have zero experience in commercial loans and would love any general advice, watch outs etc. The asking price for the property is $785,000 and monthly rents currently total $5,500.  Thanks!  

Normally, commercial property needs to DCR (Debt Cover Ratio, basically property needs to support the loan). Looking at your scenario, you may run into an issue there. Lenders like to be anywhere from 1.20-1.25+ (there are variances) on Multi Family. Based on the current rent roll you have, its looks like you are going to need a down payment closer to 50% in order to make that work. There are lenders out there that have No DCR requirements for commercial loans with $500,000 loan amounts or less, might be worth looking into

hello Andrew ,fortunately the lending guidelines are very relaxed in todays real estate climate,their are stated income loans available  

In my (very limited) experience, as long as you have 20% to put down and a steady job the bank will back you on a commercial loan. The more you have to put down the more likely they are to approve.

20-25% down should be fine. Usually small local bank will have a good rates and commercial loan broker will help you to fine a good rate. Rent seems to be little bit low but if you could increase rent, it should be fine. My local bank gave me 4.75 interest rate this week.