Joint Venture % Split Question

6 Replies

I have a friend with quite a bit of idle cash. He always approaches me to find/partner with him on multifamily investments. My background is in SFR real estate investing. I have always been excited to enter into the large multifamily investment space. He would put up all the money and be considered a very passive investor. I would investigate and analyze the deal. On a percentage basis, how would you structure the joint venture. Could I justify a straight split(ie, 70/30) of all cash flow/profit upon exit?

70/30 split is a good split.

Since this is your friend just be open with them and make sure they are making a good return and make sure that you are paid for your time!

Thanks for your response Antoine. When you say make sure I am being paid for my time, do you mean in addition to the split?

I don't think that you've provided enough information to give you a more detailed answer. Some things to consider, just to get the conversation started:

1. Be more clear about what you're proposing. You say that you will find and analyze the deal, are you also going to operate it? Property manage yourself or find a property manager? Recommend an experienced sponsor? How big is the deal? Just add a little more clarity.