Syndication and Investor Repayment

13 Replies

Hi Everyone!  My business partner and I are considering the idea of gathering money from investors (friends) to purchase a 12-24 unit apartment complex.  We aren't entirely sure how to go about structuring a contract for the investors that would explicitly lay out how much they'll be paid, if they'll own equity in the complex forever, how expenses work, etc.  Would anyone be willing to offer their insight into how best to approach this idea?  Would greatly appreciate any and all questions, comments and feedback.  Thank you all so much!!

Hey Kyle,

I'm new and have not bought a building but I have been doing a lot of learning for the past 3 months. I plan on investing in multiple syndication deals (for cash flow/return and learning) and also buying 25-75 unit buildings.

The more I learn, the more I realize that there is more to learn...every door opened leads to 10 more doors. Personally, I want to learn everything I can on the operator side first, without taking OPM. My favorite resources (in no particular order) for operating and syndicating funds have been:

-talking to syndicators like @Brian Burke @Ivan Barratt @joe fairless @todd Dexheimer

-listening to MF podcasts like @Gino Barbaro 's Wheelbarrow Profits, Michael Blanks, Joe Fairless

-reading all of the content on the sites of the above mentioned

-networking like crazy and talking to as many people as possible including apartment investors, bankers, brokers, insurance agents, etc.

-analyzing lots of deals

-hustling and starting all over again the next day

Nothing is that difficult, there is just a lot of moving parts and one wrong assumption can blow up your whole investment and lose your investor's money.

Good Luck!