Cash out Refi to acquire multifamily units advice please!

9 Replies

Hello investors,

I am seeking some advice regarding jumping into multifamily units. i currently have 2 active rental houses paid for and clear. I am attempting to leverage one property with a cash out refi. I was planning on using it ( assuming I am approved) on another SFR in my area. However after much dwelling on the idea ( because I am new to this) , I wondered if I can cash out refi then use the money to as 2 separate down payments on 2 separate 4-plex units in the Lubbock Tx area. I used to live there and I remember the rental market was fairly hot at the time.

I guess here is where I need my advice, assuming I am approved - how viable is this idea ? Will a bank go for two 30 year mortgages on two separate buildings at the same time? I am hoping to get around $100,000 on the cash out refi. I was hoping to acquire two newer 4 plexes for around 180-185k each - using 50k down on both. 

I appreciate any insight- if there are any lubbock amigos out there- I would love to chat and see what your take is on this idea. thank you!

Howdy @Burt Gourley

You will actually have 3 new 30 year mortgages. Don't forget the Cash out Refinance mortgage. I would think as long as your DTI is acceptable through the process and you have cash reserves then it might not be a problem. Remember your Credit Rating will also be affected.

Alternatively, you could look into a single portfolio or commercial loan for both properties.

@Burt Gourley

Why not try to target a 10 unit? Buy one building/property instead of two?

A bank will give you 2 separate mortgages, but do you want 2 mortgages, or would it be easier to target one property?

Refi & Roll is the quickest way to wealth and scaling your portfolio

Gino