Newbie Multifamily Guidance/Advice

11 Replies

Hello BP Nation! I currently have 2 single family homes in Michigan but I am looking to make the move into multifamily space. Over the past week I have been analyzing deals on LoopNet, purchased Michael Blank’s syndicator tool, completed the webinar on how to use the tool, and I am practicing tonight with the tool. Once I have a mastery of the tool, I plan on calling brokers just to get more comfortable discussing numbers with them. Does anyone have any tips, critique on the path I am going, or anything? Thanks everyone!

My tip: Don't be an easy mark for the brokers.  Be very wary of a broker selling you his own deal, and be even more wary if the broker is going to sell you a property and then manage it for you.  Yeah, I know there are great deals that happen despite my tip, but I've lost money because I was new to it and didn't really know what I was doing, and don't want to see you do the same.  One way to purchase properties would be to work with someone who has done it before rather than jump out on your own.

@Mike Taravella - What's your plan for if a broker sends you a deal and the numbers work?  Do you have the capacity to take it down?  Do you have investors lined-up??

Also, if you need help with the talking to brokers part... let me know.  I can help you overcome the objections that will be thrown at you and as Mr. Blank says, "Not sound like a newbie...".

Mike, my tip would be to buy an aged LLC with business credit or season one yourself. Then move any and all personal debt to the entity. Get your LLC to 80 and yourself to 720+ then go shopping for financing. Maybe even try and show as much income on the rentals to be able to afford a bigger target by showing more income and less debt. Look for a commercial property that you can force appreciation by rehab/raising rents. But if you're talking 4 units or less you can DIY on the residential lending side for less and CAP rates won't matter, John