First syndication advice

12 Replies

Hello BP,

I'm considering doing my first syndication for a $2 million 51 unit property in the midwest. I personally own 50 units but I am new to the syndication arena. I have the rent rolls and tax returns for the previous 5 years and used to manage the property for a previous owner. The property will produce a 13-15% cash on cash return. I am currently the listing agent, buyer's agent, syndicator and my company would manage the property.  What are some ways to structure this deal so I can under promise and over deliver but also retain a good chunk of equity?

Appreciate the feedback!

Garrett

@Garrett Hawk it sounds like you have a great inside track on this property. Have you considered partnering with an experienced syndicator? If you don't know any there are a bunch here on BP. I haven't done a syndication so my plan has always been to find a more experienced syndicator partner if I find a good property.

You won't make as much money that way but it will make it much easier and offers the possibility of moving on and doing additional deals with them.

If you do decide to do it on your own, there are a number of good books and seminars you can attend that will give you a lot of good info. 

The other thing I would suggest is find a few attorneys that specialize in syndications and setup a consultation with them. They will likely walk you through the basics in an attempt to get your business.

Final thought, I have heard several experienced syndicators say they went out of their way to not be greedy on their first syndication so they would perform very well and thus have the investors clamoring for more deals. So I would recommend you do that.

Once you figure out your deal structure pm me with an email, I'll look at it as a passive investor.