Being paid out on off market deal

9 Replies

Hi everyone

I am new to real estate and I recently was hired by a real estate investment firm part time unpaid to help them find off market multi-unit properties. If I was to find them a property and the deal was to go through I would get a portion of the acquisition cost. I no longer work with them due to the fact that I still work a full time job, but I am thinking of venturing out on my own. I have a sales background and wanted to reach out to property owners and then deliver potential off market listings to real estate investors in my area. Only problem is I am unsure of the legal parameters here as I am not technically working for an investor and I am not technically an agent or broker. Would I still be able to be paid an acquisition fee. Thanks in advance for the help!

First you need to get yourself educated so you know what a good deal is. 

Second, im sure you can come to some sort of an arrangement with the investment company if you find a deal.

where are you based?? 

I am in North Jersey/NYC area. 

I know there are assignment/referral fees for these kind of transactions. I just want to make sure everything is legal. 

I am just unsure if my business partner and I would be able to work out a fee paid to us by the investment company - or if we would need a commercial broker involved?

Thanks!

@Sophie Lavet It looks like you're interesting do doing what's often called "House Wholesaling". There are many topics posted on this subject.  You'll want to check your local laws and attend a local realestate meet up... There will most likely be people there that are doing the same thing and you could learn from them and get more information about the local laws.

It's a great way to get started and with your background you'll be a step ahead.