Out of state investing in Montana

3 Replies

Hey BP community,

My name is Jon McElyea, I am an investor and Realtor in Bozeman Montana.  I am looking to learn from and make connections with out of state investors.  Specifically I am interested in hearing the success stories as well as the deals that fell short while investing in Montana from out of state.  I would love to hear any investing stories from any state, however I thought it would be nice to get a conversations started about my home state, MT. I hope this post finds the few Montanans active on the site, however my aim is to connect with people outside of MT.  I am also happy to field any questions about the southwest Montana market should they arise.  

Hello Jon,

I’m from Bozeman but I currently live in Boston. I recently bought a duplex in Belgrade (I can’t find anything in Bozeman that cash flows!). I was able to purchase the property, do some minor repairs and get it rented within 18 days. I’m currently self managing it.  I hope to find another investment property to buy this year.   Please keep me in mind for any off market properties that cash flow!

Best 

Hey Jon!

I am back in town and would love to meet up with you. Sorry for the delay!

We started investing in Bozeman almost 12 years ago, and with a lot of work and sweat equity, we got our college LTR to cash flow a bit, but it was hard. Renting to college kids gets old. Even if parents co-sign, they just don't understand. Kids are kids, and kids destroy things (I am a father so I know this to be true). So I didn't even feel bad about switching to STR when the time was right.