Having no luck finding Multi Family Deals that would cash flow

74 Replies

Hi all,

I am new to multi family investing, only having just recently went into a MFR deal with a business partner to make a very, very, measly positive cash flow per month on a duplex. With that being said, is anyone willing to throw a bone as to some locations where there are still a decent amount of MFR that would cash flow well? As I stated I am new to this so I'm not surprised I'm having such a difficult time, but essentially no matter where I'm checking (online listings only, admittedly) across the US, numbers are barely even showing positive cash flow as I'm analyzing listings of MFR. This goes for Duplexes, Tri, and 4-plex!

Am I just trying to purchase at the wrong time since prices are still on the rise? Thank you ahead of time for any responses.

@Aaron Hall , @Dennis M. is correct to some degree.  C/D areas will generally cash flow better than A/B areas but I think your deal source is also very important.  If you are looking at only listed properties or pocket listings, there is much less of a chance of cash flow than if you are finding off-market deals.  All of our highest profit buy and holds, flips and wholesales have been when we were direct to seller.  It also helps if you are targeting motivated owners.  

Just my 2 cents.

Originally posted by @Robbie Reutzel :

@Aaron Hall , @Dennis M. is correct to some degree.  C/D areas will generally cash flow better than A/B areas but I think your deal source is also very important.  If you are looking at only listed properties or pocket listings, there is much less of a chance of cash flow than if you are finding off-market deals.  All of our highest profit buy and holds, flips and wholesales have been when we were direct to seller.  It also helps if you are targeting motivated owners.  

Just my 2 cents.