What are some rule(s) of thumbs for evaluating Multifamily props?

10 Replies

I'm new to real estate investing. I'm starting to get my mind around evaluating deals, learning the rules of thumbs expectations, etc.

What are some rules of thumbs you all go by when evaluating a multi-property deal?

What information do you normally request from the sellers?  

Any links to some resources, please share. 

Thanks

Ask for a T12 (trailing 12 month profit and loss statement), a current rent roll, and offering memorandum (OM). That will give you everything you need to evaluate whether you have a deal or not. As for rules of thumb, the most accurate is to go off of the historical expenses on the property. Depending on age and condition the property is in you can assume $250-500 per unit annually for maintenance and $200 per unit for Capital Expenditures. You can get more accurate with Cap Ex by taking into consideration the remaining usable. Figure the cost, years of usable life left, and determine how much you should be saving annually to cover that expense.

Start doing a lot of reading/listening:

Podcasts - Jake & Gino, Todd Dexheimer, Michael Blank, Joe Fairless

https://jakeandgino.com/buying-your-first-multifamily/ 

Books - search "buying apartment buildings" on Amazon

Web:

https://jakeandgino.com/how-to-buy-your-first-twenty-five-unit-apartment-complex/

Read info on BP...there's a lot if you just go back through these threads

@Rema W. - multifamily is a great place to focus your efforts

Personally, I think @Michael Blank offers the best deal analysis tools and education available out there, specifically for multifamily (i think his Syndicated deal analyzer is worth the fee). The BP.com calculators are excellent, as well.. but they are tailored for 1-4 unit deals.

@Scott Skinger already mentioned some of the best podcasts out there. Def agree with his callouts