How to stsrt multi-family Investing?

6 Replies

I’m new to this real estate investing world. I been reading books but have not got hands on experience yet. I’m interested in the multi-family niche. What is a way I can get started with the little capital that I have? Help needed please!!!

The easiest way is probably to use an FHA loan or VA loan if you qualify and buy a duplex up to a fourplex with the low down payment requirement of a FHA or VA. You have to live in one unit if you use one of those loan programs but you can rent out the other units.

There are many different approaches you can take to actually start investing in multifamily.

Before deciding on HOW you want to start taking action, you first need to stop and think about WHY you are doing it. Is it because you are looking to be more “time-wealthy” and therefore want a passive role? Or is it that you don’t like your corrent job and would like to become a full time active investor in multifamily? 

The answer to those questions will give you a better picture of the approach you should take. But regardless, you should always start by educating yourself, which it looks like you are doing already.

Next step would be to determine what vehicle or strategy within multifamily is going to take you to where you want to go. You shouldnt focus/invest in all kinds of multifamily (ground up development, small multis BRRRR, large apartments syndication, medium size multifamily wholesale, etc). Study them and decide on the one you will be putting all your efforts on.

Lastly go ahead and look at the different options you have to start getting involved: Go and work for an established local (or not) that does what you want to do, become a member of an investor club where you can potentially partner up with experienced investors (you need to bring value), start deploying some capital into some passive opportunities to start learning the process, start buying some properties with your own capital and grow from there....