Canadian looking to invest in US market

17 Replies

I am relatively new to the rental industry. Currently have one property here in Canada but I’m looking into the US because it’s hard to find a deal here in Canada that makes sense.

I'm wondering if anyone has any experience doing this and how they set it all up. Taxes, LLC or C Corp, etc.

Is it easier to just put my money into a REIT that invests on the US? What about property management? Is it worth the risk/reward investing south of the border for Canadians?

Any advice would be great. Thanks

@Adam Ellis Have you heard of mark klhor? I think thats how you spell his name? any ways hes a tax and legal expert no fluff type gives it to you straight check him on YouTube if you haven't heard of him. As for investing outside of your state i say give it a try you never know until you try that doesn't go without saying do your homework first. I live in Hawaii and if you ever want to info on our market feel free to PM me id be glad to share.

Hope this helps a little bit

@Adam Ellis

Plenty of opportunities for Canadians.. You just need to structure your entities to tailor your goals. You look find a local cross boarder CPA to help you..

@Adam Ellis - difficult to find, but you can source financing for rentals here in the U.S.  We're based in Atlanta, GA.  We can source financing, property management, GC, RE attorney's, and CPA's.

@Adam Ellis I have been looking at the US for the same reason. Take your time because the Canadian market is very different to the cash flowing markets in the States. In most markets that have strong cash flow you should assume no appreciation which is counter to many Canadian markets. It depends on your situation but often Canadians invest using a US LP for both tax and liability reasons but you need someone with knowledge of your specific situation.