How do you go about investing out of state?

53 Replies

Hello! I'm a Engineer working full time in New York and I'm interested of how people go about investing out of state in a state that has very low or no cash flow. (I have 40k in downpayment prepared for my first investment) How do I find a hot market? I have my sights set in Florida and Ohio now. I have family in Florida that's in the flipping buisness but we aren't to close to them and people seem to be raving over Ohio as of late. Should I be going for 200k multi family properties or try and shoot for a 50k property? I'm more so interested in buying and holding right now in multifamily housing. I want to get my feet wet and make a deal already but I'm not sure if im rushing into it. I have started off reading Rich Dad Poor Dad and it was a fantastic read and now I'm going to buy Davird Greenes book of out of state investing.

Updated over 2 years ago

Hello everyone! I've had many amazing people message me over the course of my first post in the forums. I am excited to ask many more questions and network to many more people. Hope to see myself join the same train to success with you all!

@Michael Stanley Nino

Do yourself a favor and invest passively alongside an experienced investor who can put you in a much larger investment (100+ units). @Omar Khan is a reputable sponsor and active investor on BP. Consider contacting him to see what he is up to.

Bigger properties lead to:

1) Less tenant risk

2) Better economies of scale (less cost/unit compared to single family or small multifamily)

3) Better returns (see 1 and 2)

@Michael Stanley Nino

Exactly. Ultimately all real estate investors are looking for one thing ... good returns. I'd rather invest passively in a deal with greater income potential than as the quarterback of a deal that won't produce as strong returns. 

@Michael Stanley Nino