New to Forum & RE Investing

13 Replies

Hello, I'll make this quick for now. I've wanted to do RE but initially didn't have the funds and didn't know how to get around that. Worked part time through the crash and would have had the time. Got married and for a while wife didn't want to do RE because her father "suffered" through it for years. Now that I'm full time we think it might be an interesting way to transition to working less. We'd like to move out of state (IL) in a few years to one of the "mountain areas" in the country. I wouldn't mind the first rental or two being close to me to learn but eventually I'd like to work turnkey (maybe) for the areas we're looking at (likely TN). So if anyone has turnkey tips feel free to post them or point me in the right/forum or direction. Already learning good stuff on here and the podcast. Thanks for all the posts. 

Daniel

Good morning everyone. Im a little new to the RE world. I have been reading as much as I can on how to land my first deal but either i didnt have time to research the deal or i didn't have money to buy the nesseccary subscriptions. While I'm waiting to go over the road, I will be reading as much as i can. 

Originally posted by @Daniel O'Neill :

Thanks Guys!

@Michael Dang Get uncomfortable how?

There are numerous ways.  From what you briefly mentioned, they are calculated small steps.  Take a bigger step.

• Go bigger and target 5+ units, commercial side.
  • Consider not buying turnkey properties, find some properties that need some value add or have been neglected.
  • Cast a wider fishing net and search for properties in the county and surrounding counties where you may move too.
  • Understand the local tenant and state laws
  • Connect with brokers, mtg brokers, property mgmt companies, other investors or potential partners.  Your future TEAM members.
  • Research Notes, Land, Self Storage, Industrial, Retail, Office, or other real estate asset classes that you maybe interested in.