Should I just jump into a 45 unit multifamily?

36 Replies

I’m a physician who came across a possible 45 unit deal. Other than that I’m in the middle of my first flip and I completely lack experience. I have no plans to self manage. I’m not going to attempt anything other than being the owner. Is it prudent to just jump in? I would have to get an experienced partner on board as well as find the majority of my funding some other way. What do you think?

Doesn't sound like you're ready to "jump in" as you don't have your resources in place, including management and financing, constructions. If it's a great deal it will likely be sold before you get things in place, unless the seller is wanting to specifically sell to YOU. Then you may have time.

@James Canoy I applaud your enthousiasm and would agree with @Ray Harrell that you probably should do some prep work to be 'ready'. Will the owner carry? Is there a PM in place now?

As far as partnerships go, spend some time thinking about that. REI can get really messy, and having to enforce an 'operating agreement' would not be fun! Have you considered investing more passively to start-several syndicators on the board. All the best!

Originally posted by @Ray Harrell :

Doesn't sound like you're ready to "jump in" as you don't have your resources in place, including management and financing, constructions. If it's a great deal it will likely be sold before you get things in place, unless the seller is wanting to specifically sell to YOU. Then you may have time.

Without any experience, other than my current flip, how do I find these people? Rent a single family? A smaller multifamily?

Originally posted by @Bjorn Ahlblad :

@James Canoy I applaud your enthousiasm and would agree with @Ray Harrell that you probably should do some prep work to be 'ready'. Will the owner carry? Is there a PM in place now?