Where to start, when it comes to real estate?

7 Replies

Hello, I have read over multi- family / Duplex /Triplex / Quadplex owning for about three months now. But, that is how far I have gotten. I've learned some of the finances involved but still learning as I go. The plan is to start college next year but investing into a quadplex near my college. I spent most my time overseas the last five years and haven't own much property and not as smart on the paper side of the real estate process. This type of investing has always interested me and I have been looking for some type of guidance since.

I guess the question is, if I were to pursue this avenue what would you suggest I learn before starting?

I.E. Should I go for a real estate license?

Notes:

-I do have some money to play with for down payment on loan.

-I plan to live in one of the units while in school.

-I read about some of the finances on the ownership side but i’m not an expert.

-I know a few of the acronyms used in this field please bear with me if Im confused.

Mr.Burns

Sounds like your talking about House Hacking. I would recommend joining your Local Real Estate Club in your area an rub shoulders with others. also listen to some Podcast on Bigger pockets of House Hacking.

There's probably not a large benefit to you getting a RE license aside from looking at the inventory which is now available to all consumer via Zillow or Realtor.com. Yes you could be getting some of that 2-3% commission for purchase and sales but the few deals you will be doing will not be worth the time, licensing cost, and education you have to get in ascertain a this license.