Reputable lender recommendations

15 Replies

Hi,

I’m new to bigger pockets and new to real estate investing.  I have been wanting to get into it for a while and feeling like now is the time.

I would like to start with a 4plex in the Oakland/berkely area. I’m looking to live in one of the units. My down payment would be 3.5%

I started looking for lenders that will approve me for this type of loan but there are so many. I prefer a private lender that can get the deal done fast. 

One company I saw that looks decent is quicken. Does anyone have experience with them? 

Any recommendations?

@Soul Luciani quicken is good for first time home buyers and residential mortgages. You should call quicken and another large lender plus call 5-10 local community banks or credit unions in the Oakland area so you can get the best pricing. Robert Friedberg with CMG Financial is in San Ramon and always educates clients so you might want to start with him. 

@Soul Luciani

I would doubt any of the big lenders will get the deal done fast. Conventional lending requires a lot of hoops to jump through. If speed is a priority of yours, talk to small local community banks in your area about a portfolio loan. While the rates will be a little higher, those loans can close fast. I've literally done deals where I provided lender info on the property, they then completed the appraisal, and then closed all in about a week and a half! (That's probably not the norm but can be done).

Hope this helps.

Also, on a side note, don't get discouraged if you don't receive a lot of lender recommendations. Many folks have built very strong relationships with their lenders and aren't quick to divulge their information because they don't know you, and if things go south, it's their reputation on the line.

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor