Socal beginner that can save $3500 a month

8 Replies

Hello,

I am located in Southern California and I’ve been doing my research on RE investing and want more exposure (how to go about finding meet-up groups, where to start, mentors).

Currently I work in the IT field making 100k a year. I currently work from home and I can save $3500 a month with 10k in cash currently. I want to save up another 30k in the next 8 months to have 40k to invest. I also currently have an old school hod rod that is fully restored and can sell for about $20k-25k can i use this in any way? My goal house hack and get into a multifamily commercial unit and then snow ball from there. Any suggestions on what i should do in the meantime (wholesale, bankruptcies).

Thanks,

@Samuel Gates welcome to BP, Congrats on having prepared yourself for a great career in IT and the benefits that has to offer. Recognizing the value of money, having some and access to more money is key to thriving in this business. 

I would suggest getting out and meeting investors and like minded people would serve you well. BP has networking events as does your State LL Association; I am sure there are investment groups in your area too.

There are so many ways people make money in REI it is astounding. Learning about them and the people involved will help you formulate your goals. All the best!

@Samuel Gates - Start meeting people (investors, lending, realtors) in the area you want to house hack.  Define what will be financially necessary to reach that goal and write it down.  Reverse engineer the goal based on a timeline.  

If you own the car outright it will show as an asset on your balance sheet.  It's not as good as cash, but it's more fun to drive.

@Bjorn Ahlblad

Thanks for the kind words. Thanks, I was not too sure where to start. Just to clarify LL association is the National Landlord association correct? I just viewed an episode where they discussed their meet up forms I will take a look at next