Offer contingency broken

6 Replies

I recently put a 9-unit apartment building under contract. It was 100% occupied. Two of the 9 units had a lease, but the other 7 didn't and were month to month. I put a contigency in the offer that all the apartments needed to have leases and also 100% occupancy. Today was the deadline and 1 tenant declined to sign the lease and will now vacate the apartment. The rent was $450/month.

I don't know what to do. Should I ask for a concession in the form of cash at closing?

@Frank Jennings are you worried you can't find a new tenant? If so, I'd ask why are you buying the place. If you aren't worried then you could ask the seller for a credit to cover a month or two of rent while you fill the vacancy. Hopefully you can fill the vacancy with a higher paying tenant too. Good luck.

Hi Danny,

Thank you for the reply. I am not worried about filling it. We were told that it would be 100% filled and with leases, but it turned out they lost one. I am new to this so really my question is it ok to even ask for a concession in this case? Is it common practice to ask for this kind of concession?

@Frank Jennings   This type of thing happens a lot  in the real estate investing world, whether you are on the residential or commercial side.  If you put a requirement in a contract and someone fails to meet the terms, or the situation fails to meet your terms, you can back out.  Here in California it is called a Notice To Perform. and the default in some contracts is 48 hours.  Meaning the other side is given 48 hours to resolve the issue, and or make good on the terms of the contract.