How are some ways to find off market listing?

7 Replies

Good afternoon,

I am new to investing and I'm focusing on MFH. What I want to do is find little ways more advanced investors use to connect with property owners of MFH who have not listed there property for sale. I have thought about researching properties in the area and contacting the management companies which run the properties to see if they can convey my interest to the owner / owners or give me the owners contact info so that I can reach out direct. I would love any tricks or sources you guys use to find off market properties.

@Chris Mendez

I haven't specifically went after MFRs, but one way is to find a vacant or distressed MFR and find it on the county CAD. Get the owner info and send them a note. Sometimes they're LLCs which is hard to trace.

@Chris Mendez

Create your investment criteria, search for properties in your criteria via costar/Yardi reports or just look properties up on the county tax assessors office website. You can the use the county assessors website to find owners names, numbers and addresses.

Alternatively, you can make a list off off market deals like above - take it to your broker, ask them if they would reach out to the owners on your behalf and then ask the broker for a larger list from your criteria.

@Chris Mendez there are no tricks or secrets to finding off market properties. 

It’s simply a process of compiling a list through a paid service like list source, Reonomy and CoStar or free methods like Loopnet, tax database, brokers, property managers, title companies, multi family inspectors, appraisers, landscapers and other companies that service commercial and multifamily properties and driving for dollars.

The real key is in how you approach the owners and then the follow up.